

International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds

Reference	IOPC/2025/Circ.1
Date	6 January 2025
1992 Fund	•
Supplementary Fund	•

Status of the 1992 Fund Convention and the Supplementary Fund Protocol

In accordance with Regulation 4.6 of the Internal Regulations of the 1992 Fund and the Internal Regulations of the Supplementary Fund, the Director is pleased to provide the list of 121 States for which the 1992 Fund Convention is in force and the list of 33 States for which the Supplementary Fund Protocol is in force, below.

Developments in 2024

In addition, the Director has the honour to inform Contracting States that the 1992 Fund Convention will enter into force for Iraq on 5 August 2025, bringing the number of 1992 Fund Member States to 122. Furthermore, he is pleased to report that the Supplementary Fund Protocol entered into force for the Republic of Mauritius on 9 July 2024, bringing its total membership to 33 States.

* * *

IOPC/2025/Circ.1 - 2 -

1992 Fund Member States

121 States for which the 1992 Fund Convention is in force		
Albania	Greece	Palau
Algeria	Grenada	Panama
Angola	Guinea	Papua New Guinea
Antigua and Barbuda	Guinea-Bissau	Philippines
Argentina	Guyana	Poland
Australia	Hungary	Portugal
Bahamas	Iceland	Qatar
Bahrain	India	Republic of Korea
Barbados	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	Russian Federation
Belgium	Ireland	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Belize	Israel	Saint Lucia
Benin	Italy	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Brunei Darussalam	Jamaica	Samoa
Bulgaria	Japan	San Marino
Cabo Verde	Kenya	Senegal
Cambodia	Kiribati	Serbia
Cameroon	Latvia	Seychelles
Canada	Liberia	Sierra Leone
China ^{<1>}	Lithuania	Singapore
Colombia	Luxembourg	Slovakia
Comoros	Madagascar	Slovenia
Congo (the)	Malaysia	South Africa
Cook Islands	Maldives	Spain
Costa Rica	Malta	Sri Lanka
Côte d'Ivoire	Marshall Islands	Sweden
Croatia	Mauritania	Switzerland
Cyprus	Mauritius	Syrian Arab Republic
Denmark	Mexico	Thailand
Djibouti	Monaco	Tonga
Dominica	Montenegro	Trinidad and Tobago
Dominican Republic	Morocco	Tunisia
Ecuador	Mozambique	Türkiye
Estonia	Nauru	Tuvalu
Fiji	Namibia	United Arab Emirates
Finland	Netherlands	United Kingdom
France	New Zealand	United Republic of Tanzania
Gabon	Nicaragua	Uruguay
Gambia (the)	Nigeria	Vanuatu
Georgia	Niue	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Germany	Norway	
Ghana	Oman	
1 State which has deposited	an instrument of accession, but for v	which the 1992 Fund Convention does not
	enter into force until date ind	
Iraq		5 August 2025

^{<1>} The 1992 Fund Convention applies to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region only.

IOPC/2025/Circ.1 - 3 -

Supplementary Fund Member States

33 States for which the Supplementary Fund Protocol is in force		
Australia	Greece	New Zealand
Barbados	Hungary	Norway
Belgium	Ireland	Poland
Canada	Italy	Portugal
Congo (the)	Japan	Republic of Korea
Croatia	Latvia	Slovakia
Denmark	Lithuania	Slovenia
Estonia	Mauritius	Spain
Finland	Montenegro	Sweden
France	Morocco	Türkiye
Germany	Netherlands<2>	United Kingdom

^{2>} The Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten are autonomous partners within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Supplementary Fund has not been extended to Aruba, Curaçao or Sint Maarten.