

International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds

| Reference | IOPC/2023/Circ.1 |
|--------------------|------------------|
| Date | 18 January 2023 |
| 1992 Fund | • |
| Supplementary Fund | • |

Status of the 1992 Fund Convention and the Supplementary Fund Protocol

In accordance with Regulation 4.6 of the Internal Regulations of the 1992 Fund and the Internal Regulations of the Supplementary Fund, the Director is pleased to provide the list of 120 States for which the 1992 Fund Convention is in force and the list of 32 States for which the Supplementary Fund Protocol is in force, overleaf.

Developments in 2022

In addition, the Director has the honour to inform Contracting States that the Republic of Guinea-Bissau has deposited an instrument of accession to the 1992 Fund Convention. The dates of accession and entry into force are detailed in the following table:

| | Date instrument was deposited | Date of entry into force |
|---------------------------|-------------------------------|--------------------------|
| Republic of Guinea-Bissau | 12 May 2022 | 12 May 2023 |

No instruments of accession to the Supplementary Fund Protocol were deposited during 2022.

* * *

IOPC/2023/Circ.1 - 2 -

1992 Fund Member States

| 120 |) States for which the 1992 Fund Conv | vention is in force |
|----------------------------|---------------------------------------|---|
| Albania | Greece | Palau |
| Algeria | Grenada | Panama |
| Angola | Guinea | Papua New Guinea |
| Antigua and Barbuda | Guyana | Philippines |
| Argentina | Hungary | Poland |
| Australia | Iceland | Portugal |
| Bahamas | India | Qatar |
| Bahrain | Iran (Islamic Republic of) | Republic of Korea |
| Barbados | Ireland | Russian Federation |
| Belgium | Israel | Saint Kitts and Nevis |
| Belize | Italy | Saint Lucia |
| Benin | Jamaica | Saint Vincent and the Grenadines |
| Brunei Darussalam | Japan | Samoa |
| Bulgaria | Kenya | San Marino |
| Cabo Verde | Kiribati | Senegal |
| Cambodia | Latvia | Serbia |
| Cameroon | Liberia | Seychelles |
| Canada | Lithuania | , Sierra Leone |
| China ^{<1>} | Luxembourg | Singapore |
| Colombia | Madagascar | Slovakia |
| Comoros | Malaysia | Slovenia |
| Congo (the) | Maldives | South Africa |
| Cook Islands | Malta | Spain |
| Costa Rica | Marshall Islands | Sri Lanka |
| Côte d'Ivoire | Mauritania | Sweden |
| Croatia | Mauritius | Switzerland |
| Cyprus | Mexico | Syrian Arab Republic |
| Denmark | Monaco | Thailand |
| Djibouti | Montenegro | Tonga |
| Dominica | Morocco | Trinidad and Tobago |
| Dominican Republic | Mozambique | Tunisia |
| Ecuador | Nauru | Türkiye |
| Estonia | Namibia | Tuvalu |
| Fiji | Netherlands | United Arab Emirates |
| Finland | New Zealand | United Kingdom |
| France | Nicaragua | United Republic of Tanzania |
| Gabon | Nigeria | Uruguay |
| Gambia (the) | Niue | Vanuatu |
| Georgia | Norway | Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) |
| Germany | Oman | |
| Ghana | | |
| | an instrument of accession, but for w | which the 1992 Fund Convention does not |
| | enter into force until the date ir | |
| Guinea-Bissau | | 12 May 2023 |
| | | |

^{<1>} The 1992 Fund Convention applies to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region only.

IOPC/2023/Circ.1 - 3 -

Supplementary Fund Member States

| Australia | Greece | Norway |
|-------------|----------------|-------------------|
| Barbados | Hungary | Poland |
| Belgium | Ireland | Portugal |
| Canada | Italy | Republic of Korea |
| Congo (the) | Japan | Slovakia |
| Croatia | Latvia | Slovenia |
| Denmark | Lithuania | Spain |
| Estonia | Montenegro | Sweden |
| Finland | Morocco | Türkiye |
| France | Netherlands<2> | United Kingdom |
| Germany | New Zealand | |

^{<2>} The Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten are autonomous partners within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Supplementary Fund has not been extended to Aruba, Curaçao or Sint Maarten.