

ASSEMBLY 15th session Agenda item 10

Mombare

FUND/A.15/7 29 July 1992

Original: ENGLISH

APPOINTMENT OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS OF THE APPEALS BOARD

Note by the Director

1 At its 14th session, in October 1991, the Assembly appointed the following members and substitute members of the Appeals Board of the IOPC Fund for a term of two years (document FUND/A.14/23, paragraph 10):

Substitute Members

Wembers		Cubstitute Members	
Mr N R Meemaduma	a (Sri Lanka)	Mr N Schuldt	(Germany)
Mr H Bergaoui	(Tunisia)	Dr S Mittiga	(Italy)
Mr F D Berman	(United Kingdom)	Mr S Kanazawa	(Japan)

- In the event of the resignation of a member or substitute member, the Assembly shall appoint a replacement for the unexpired portion of his term of office (Section II(c) of the Statute of the Appeals Board).
- Since the 14th session of the Assembly, the Director has been notified of the resignation of Mr S Kanazawa (Japan) and Dr S Mittiga (Italy) from their positions as substitute members of the Appeals Board, following their transfer to duty stations outside the United Kingdom. In accordance with Section II(c) of the Statute of the Appeals Board, Mr Kanazawa and Dr Mittiga have been replaced in their positions on the Appeals Board by their successors in office, Mr Y Ono and Mr E Conte, respectively, pending the appointment of replacements by the Assembly.

Action to be Taken by the Assembly

The Assembly is invited to appoint replacements of the above-mentioned substitute members of the Appeals Board for the unexpired portion of their term of office, ie until the 16th session of the Assembly in 1993.