

INTERNATIONAL OIL POLLUTION COMPENSATION FUND 1992

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 3rd session Agenda item 4 92FUND/EXC.3/6 15 April 1999 Original: ENGLISH

### ANY OTHER BUSINESS

### STATUS OF THE 1992 FUND CONVENTION

#### Note by the Director

Summary: Forty-three States have acceded to the 1992 Fund Convention so far.

Action to be taken: Information to be noted.

- When the 1992 Fund Convention entered into force on 30 May 1996, nine States were Parties to the Convention and therefore Members of the 1992 Fund. At the time of the 2nd session of the Executive Committee, 30 States were Members of the 1992 Fund. Since then, the 1992 Fund Convention has entered into force for one further State, bringing the present 1992 Fund membership to 31. In addition, there are 12 States which have deposited instruments of accession to the 1992 Fund Convention, in respect of which the Convention will enter into force during the coming twelve months. This will bring the number of 1992 Fund Member States to 43 by 15 April 2000, as set out in the Annex.
- The Executive Committee's attention is drawn to the two accessions to the 1992 Fund Convention since the Committee's 2nd session, ie those of Vanuatu and Panama.

#### Action to be taken by the Executive Committee

3 The Executive Committee is invited to take note of the information contained in this document.

\* \* \*

# ANNEX

## Status of the 1992 Fund Convention

# as at 15 April 1999

31 States for which Fund Protocol is in force (and therefore Members of the 1992 Fund)		
Australia	Ireland	Oman
Bahamas	Jamaica	Philippines
Bahrain	Japan	Republic of Korea
Croatia	Latvia	Singapore
Cyprus	Liberia	Spain
Denmark	Marshall Islands	Sweden
Finland	Mexico	Tunisia
France	Monaco	United Arab Emirates
Germany	Netherlands	United Kingdom
Greece	Norway	Uruguay
Grenada		
	which have deposited instruments o und Protocol does not enter into for	
Canada		29 May 199
Algeria		11 June 199
New Zealand		25 June 199
Barbados		7 July 199
Venezuela		22 July 199
Belgium		6 October 199
Iceland		13 November 199
Belize		27 November 199
China (Hong Kong Special Administrative Region)		5 January 200
Sri Lanka		22 January 200
Vanuatu		18 February 200
v andata		10 1 columny 200