

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 17th session Agenda item 4

17 June 2002 Original: ENGLISH

92FUND/EXC.17/8

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

STATUS OF 1992 FUND CONVENTION

Note by the Director

Summary: Eighty States have acceded to the 1992 Fund Convention.

Action to be taken: Information to be noted.

- When the 1992 Fund Convention entered into force on 30 May 1996, nine States were Parties to the Convention and therefore Members of the 1992 Fund. At the time of the 6th extraordinary session of the Assembly held in April/May 2002, 64 States were Members of the 1992 Fund. Since then, the 1992 Fund Convention has entered into force for a further two States, bringing the present 1992 Fund membership to 66. In addition, there are 14 States which have deposited instruments of accession to the 1992 Fund Convention, in respect of which the Convention will enter into force during the coming twelve months. This will bring the number of 1992 Fund Member States to 80 by 31 May 2003, as set out in the Annex.
- Attention is drawn to the three accessions to the 1992 Fund Convention since the 6th extraordinary session of the 1992 Fund Assembly, ie those of Madagascar, Nigeria and Gabon.
- 3 There are still 15 States which were Members of the 1971 Fund when the 1971 Fund Convention ceased to be in force on 24 May 2002 which have not acceded to the 1992 Fund Convention.

Action to be taken by the Executive Committee

4 The Executive Committee is invited to take note of the information contained in this document.

ANNEX

States Parties to both the 1992 Protocol to the Civil Liability Convention and the 1992 Protocol to the Fund Convention

as at 17 June 2002

66 States for which Fund Protocol is in force		
(and therefore Members of the 1992 Fund)		
Algeria	Germany	Panama
Antigua and Barbuda	Greece	Papua New Guinea
Argentina	Grenada	Philippines
Australia	Iceland	Poland
Bahamas	India	Republic of Korea
Bahrain	Ireland	Russian Federation
Barbados	Italy	Seychelles
Belgium	Jamaica	Sierra Leone
Belize	Japan	Singapore
Cambodia	Kenya	Slovenia
Canada	Latvia	Spain
China (Hong Kong Special	Liberia	Sri Lanka
Administrative Region)	Lithuania	Sweden
Comoros	Malta	Tonga
Croatia	Marshall Islands	Trinidad and Tobago
Cyprus	Mauritius	Tunisia
Denmark	Mexico	United Arab Emirates
Djibouti	Monaco	United Kingdom
Dominican Republic	Morocco	Uruguay
Fiji	Netherlands	Vanuatu
Finland	New Zealand	Venezuela
France	Norway	
Georgia	Oman	
14 States which have deposited instruments of accession, but for which		
the Fund Protocol does not enter into force until date indicated		
Turkey		17 August 2002
Dominica		31 August 2002
Angola		4 October 2002
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines		9 October 2002
Cameroon		15 October 2002
Portugal		13 November 2002
Colombia		19 November 2002
Qatar		20 November 2002
Brunei Darussalam		31 January 2003
Samoa		1 February 2003
Mozambique		26 April 2003
Madagascar		21 May 2003
Nigeria		24 May 2003
Gabon		31 May 2003