

INTERNATIONAL OIL POLLUTION COMPENSATION FUND 1992

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 10th session Agenda item 6 92FUND/EXC.10/2 27 October 2000 Original: ENGLISH

RECORD OF DECISIONS OF THE TENTH SESSION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

(held on 27 October 2000)

Chairman:

Mr G Sivertsen (Norway)

Vice-Chairman:

Captain P San Miguel (Venezuela)

Opening of the session

The 10th session of the Executive Committee was opened by the Director, in accordance with Rule (v) of the Committee's Rules of Procedure, as neither the delegation of the former Chairman nor that of the former Vice-Chairman was a member of the newly elected Executive Committee.

1 Adoption of the Agenda

The Executive Committee adopted the Agenda as contained in document 92FUND/EXC.10/1.

2 <u>Election of Chairman and Vice-Chairman</u>

2.1 The Executive Committee elected the following delegates to hold office until the end of the next regular session of the Assembly:

Chairman:Mr G Sivertsen (Norway)Vice-Chairman:Captain P San Miguel (Venezuela)

2.2 The Chairman, on behalf of himself and the Vice-Chairman, thanked the Executive Committee for the confidence shown in them.

3 Examination of credentials

3.1 The following members of the Executive Committee were present:

Algeria	Germany	Netherlands
Australia	Ireland	Norway
Canada	Japan	Singapore
Croatia	Latvia	Vanuatu
France	Marshall Islands	Venezuela

- 3.2 The Executive Committee agreed that the credentials submitted by these delegations to the 5th session of the Assembly should be understood as also covering the 10th session of the Executive Committee.
- 3.3 The following Member States were represented as observers:

Bahamas	Greece	Republic of Korea
Belgium	Grenada	Spain
China (Hong Kong Special	Ireland	Sweden
Administrative Region)	Italy	Tunisia
Cyprus	Liberia	United Arab Emirates
Denmark	Mexico	United Kingdom
Finland	Panama	Uruguay

3.4 The following non-Member States were represented as observers:

States which have deposited instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession to the 1992 Fund Convention:

Antigua and Barbuda Argentina	India Malta	Russian Federation Slovenia
Fiji	Morocco	Tonga
Georgia	Poland	Trinidad and Tobago
Other States		

Brazil	Estonia	Peru
Cameroon	Ghana	Saudi Arabia
Chile	Malaysia	Turkey
Colombia	Nigeria	United States
Ecuador	-	

3.5 The following intergovernmental organisations and international non-governmental organisations were represented as observers:

Intergovernmental organisations: International Oil Pollution Compensation Fund 1971 (1971 Fund) International Maritime Organization (IMO) European Commission (EC)

International non-governmental organisations: Comité Maritime International (CMI) European Chemical Industry Council (CEFIC) International Association of Independent Tanker Owners (INTERTANKO) International Chamber of Shipping (ICS) International Group of P & I Clubs International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation Limited (ITOPF)

92FUND/EXC.10/2

- 3 -

International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) Oil Companies International Marine Forum (OCIMF)

4 **Future sessions**

- 4.1 The Committee decided to hold a further session on 29 and 30 January 2001.
- 4.2 It was decided that the Committee would hold its normal autumn session during the week of 15 October 2001.

5 <u>Any other business</u>

- 5.1 The Executive Committee expressed its gratitude to the previous Chairman, Professor L S Chai (Republic of Korea), for his leadership during the previous two years.
- 5.2 The Committee expressed its appreciation to Dr R Renger (Germany) for his contribution to the IOPC Funds over many years and wished him a happy retirement.

6 Adoption of the Record of Decisions

The Executive Committee decided to authorise the Director to prepare, in consultation with the Chairman, the Record of Decisions of this session.
