

INTERNATIONAL OIL POLLUTION COMPENSATION FUND

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 48th session 16 April 1996 FUND/EXC.48/INF.1 17 April 1996

ENGLISH ONLY

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Chairman:

Mr W J G Oosterveen (Netherlands)

Vice-Chairman:

Miss A N Ogo (Nigeria)

AUSTRALIA

Dr R Balkin, Acting Senior Government Counsel, Office of International Law, Attorney-General's Department

CANADA

Representative Mr A H E Popp QC, Senior General Counsel, Admiralty & Maritime Law, Department of Justice <u>Adviser</u> Ms E Koren, Environment Division, Global Issues Branch, Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade

FINLAND

<u>Representative</u> Ms U Kaarikivi-Laine, Senior Adviser, Ministry of the Environment <u>Alternate</u> Ms L M Eriksson, Senior Adviser, Ministry of Transport and Communications

Representative

GERMANY

<u>Representative</u> Dr R Renger, Assistant Secretary, Federal Ministry of Justice <u>Alternate</u> Dr N Schuldt, Counsellor (Maritime), German Embassy, London

INDIA

<u>Representative</u> Captain S S Naphade, Director General of Shipping, Ministry of Surface Transport

JAPAN

Representative Mr K Takiguchi, Counsellor, Embassy of Japan, London <u>Advisers</u> Professor H Tanikawa, Seikei University Mr S Osanai, Japan Maritime Research Institute Mr S Sugiura, Petroleum Industry Marine Association of Japan

LIBERIA

Representative Mr G B Cooper, Permanent Representative of Liberia to IMO <u>Alternate</u> Mr L D Barchue Sr, Deputy Permanent Representative of Liberia to IMO <u>Adviser</u> Captain N H Maude, Liberian Services Ltd

MEXICO

Representative

Mr J Lomónaco, Second Secretary, Permanent Representative of Mexico to IMO, Mexican Embassy, London <u>Alternate</u> Captain A S Bandala, Communications and Transport Attaché, Mexican Embassy, London <u>Adviser</u>

Mr J E Salgado y Salgado, Asesor Gerencia Juridica, Petroleos Mexicanos

NETHERLANDS

Representatives

Mr W J G Oosterveen, Counsellor of Legislation, Directorate for Legislation, Ministry of Justice Mr J E de Boer, Legal Adviser, Directorate–GeneralShipping and Maritime Affairs, Ministry of Transport, Public Works and Water Management

NORWAY

<u>Representative</u> Mr G Sivertsen, Senior Executive Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs <u>Alternate</u> Ms M Ommundsen, Executive Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

RUSSIAN FEDERATION

Representatives

Mr G G Ivanov, Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation to IMO Mrs I I Barinova, Head, Legal Division, Department of Maritime Transport, Ministry of Transport

SPAIN

6

Representative

Mr C de la Torre García, Counsellor (Transport), Alternate Representative of Spain to IMO, Spanish Embassy, London

Member State Observers

BELGIUM

Mr J Herbaux, Adviser, Belgian Petroleum Federation

DENMARK

Mrs B S Olsen, Head of Division, Ministry of Business and Industry Mrs K H Larsen, Head of Section, Ministry of Business and Industry

FRANCE

Mr J Chevaillier, Conseiller juridique, Service juridique et de l'Agence judiciaire du Trésor, Ministère de l'Economie, des Finances et du Plan

GREECE

Senior Commander (HCG) G Giannimaras, Assistant Maritime Attaché, Embassy of Greece, London

Captain (HCG) (rtd) Z Sdougos, Union of Greek Shipowners

IRELAND

Mr J Keohane, Department of the Marine

REPUBLIC OF KOREA

Mr G S Lee, Counsellor (Maritime), Embassy of the Republic of Korea, London Mr Hae Yong Cheong, General Manager, Korea Shipowners' Association Mr K G Oh, Korea Maritime and Port Administration Mr J Rhim, Korean Register of Shipping Professor L S Chai Mr J Choi

SLOVENIA

Mr C Kosak, Counsellor (Economic), Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia, London Mrs A S Suhadolnik, First Secretary, Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia, London

SWEDEN

Mr T Norström, Director, Ministry of Justice

TUNISIA

Mr F Lassoued, Sous-Directeurde la Navigation Maritime, Ministère du Transport

UNITED KINGDOM

Mr J Wren, Shipping Policy 3B, Department of Transport

Mr F J Wall, Shipping Policy, Department of Transport

Mr I Reeve, Shipping Policy 3B, Department of Transport

Mr T Smyth, Shipping Policy 3B, Department of Transport

Mr P Eggington, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Mr R Macey, Welsh Office

Mr D Webb, Welsh Office

Mr P Quinn, Shipping Policy 3 B, Department of Transport

Mr D A Hall, Permanent Representative of Hong Kong Government to IMO, Hong Kong Government



VENEZUELA

Captain H Ramírez Pérez, Permanent Representative of Venezuela to IMO, Venezuelan Embassy, London Mr B McAleer, PDV (UK) SA Mr I Hole, Supply Director, BITOR Europe Ltd Mr A L Coelles Padilla, Market Analysis Manager, PDV (UK) SA Mr L Cova-Arria

Observers

SAUDI ARABIA

Mr E Al-Nassir, Financial Analyst, Ministry of Petroleum and Minerals

UNITED STATES

Mr R Blumberg, Office of Oceans Affairs, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, Department of State

Observer from Intergovernmental Organisations

INTERNATIONAL MARITIME ORGANIZATION (IMO)

Mr G Librando, Senior Legal Officer, Legal Office, Legal Affairs and External Relations Division

Observers from International Non-GovernmentalOrganisations

COMITE MARITIME INTERNATIONAL (CMI)

Mr P J S Griggs, Vice President

Mr R Shaw

CRISTAL LIMITED

Mr J Hawkes, Managing Director

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT TANKER OWNERS (INTERTANKO) Mr T Meyer

INTERNATIONAL CHAMBER OF SHIPPING (ICS) Ms L M Howlett

INTERNATIONAL GROUP OF P & I CLUBS

Mr A Graham Mr J Hare Mr I Kleiven Mr R N Readman Mr D J L Watkins

INTERNATIONAL TANKER OWNERS POLLUTION FEDERATION LTD (ITOPF)

Dr T H Moller Mr H D Parker Dr K Purnell Dr I C White

.

.

.

· .

OIL COMPANIES INTERNATIONAL MARINE FORUM (OCIMF) Captain J Irvine

· ·

Secretariat of the IOPC Fund

6

Mr M Jacobsson, Director Mr H Osuga, Legal Officer Mrs S Broadley, Claims Officer Mr J Maura, Claims Officer Mrs H Rubin, Administrative Officer