

4 September 2013	
92A18	•
92EC59	
SA9	
71AC31	
	92A18 92EC59 SA9

IOPC/OCT13/7/2

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS AND SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS OF THE APPEALS BOARD

Agenda item: 7

Note by the Director

The term of office of the present members and substitute members of the Appeals Board expires at the October 2013 session of the 1992 Fund Assembly.

Action to be taken:

1992 Fund Assembly

Appoint members and substitute members of the Appeals Board for a term of two years, ie until the October 2015 session of the 1992 Fund Assembly.

1 <u>Introduction</u>

- 1.1 The 1992 Fund has an Appeals Board with the mandate to settle disputes between staff members or former staff members and the Director concerning individual decisions applying to persons in these categories who base their case on the non-observance of the Staff Regulations, the Staff Rules or the conditions of employment including the contract or letter of employment (Staff Regulation 29 (c) and paragraph I (a) of Annex II to the Staff Regulations).
- 1.2 Section II of the Statute of the Appeals Board provides that the Appeals Board shall consist of three nationals of different Member States, to be appointed by the 1992 Fund Assembly. Three substitute members from three other Member States shall also be appointed (paragraph (a)). The members and substitute members may be named individuals or the holders for the time being of any senior government office and residing in or near London. They shall not be members of the Secretariat. At least one member and one substitute member shall have legal qualifications (paragraph (b)). The members and substitute members shall be appointed for a term of two years and may be reappointed. In the event of the death or resignation of a member or substitute member, the 1992 Fund Assembly shall appoint a replacement for the unexpired portion of his or her term. Pending such appointment, the member or substitute member shall be replaced by his successor in office (paragraph (c)).
- 1.3 The composition of the Appeals Board appointed in October 2011 is as follows:

Members		Substitute Members		
Mme Odile Roussel	(France)	Mr Adonis Pavlides	(Cyprus)	
Mr Tetsuto Igarashi	(Japan)	Ms Anne-Marie Sciberras	(Malta)	
Sir Michael Wood	(United Kingdom)	Dr Young-sun Park	(Republic of Korea)	

IOPC/OCT13/7/2

- 2 -

- 1.4 The Director was informed in January 2013 that Mr Tetsuto Igarashi was returning to Japan and thus could no longer serve as a member of the Appeals Board. His successor, Mr Noriyoshi Yamagami, kindly accepted to serve as a member of the Appeals Board until the October 2013 session of the 1992 Fund Assembly in accordance with Section II, paragraph (c) of the Statute of the Appeals Board.
- 1.5 The Director has subsequently learnt that Mme Odile Roussel, Ms Anne-Marie Sciberras and Dr Young-sun Park have left their posts in London and will not be able to stand for a further two-year term as a member or substitute member.
- 1.6 Following consultations, the Director proposes the following composition of the Appeals Board for a term of two years, ie until the October 2015 session of the 1992 Fund Assembly:

Members			Substitute Members		
	Mme Elisabeth Barsacq	(France)	Dr Christos Atalianis	(Cyprus)	
	Mr Noriyoshi Yamagami	(Japan)	Ms Susana Garduño Arias	(Mexico)	
	Sir Michael Wood	(United Kingdom)	Mr Cho Seung Hwan	(Republic of Korea)	

2 Action to be taken

1992 Fund Assembly

The 1992 Fund Assembly is invited to appoint members and substitute members of the Appeals Board for a term of two years, ie until the October 2015 session of the 1992 Fund Assembly as set out in paragraph 1.6 above.