

ASSEMBLY 9th session Agenda item 19 92FUND/A.9/17 1 August 2004 Original: ENGLISH

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS AND SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS OF THE APPEALS BOARD

Note by the Director

Summary:	The term of office of the present members and substitute members of the Appeals Board expires at the 9th session of the Assembly.
Action to be taken:	Appoint members and substitute members of the Appeals Board.

- The 1992 Fund has an Appeals Board with the mandate to settle disputes between staff members or former staff members and the Director concerning individual decisions applying to persons in these categories who base their case on the non-observance of the Staff Regulations, the Staff Rules or the conditions of employment including the contract or letter of employment (Staff Regulation 29 (c) and Annex II, section I (a) of Annex II to the Regulations).
- Section II of the Statute of the Appeals Board provides that the Appeals Board shall consist of three nationals of different Member States, to be appointed by the Assembly. Three substitute members from three other Member States shall also be appointed (paragraph (a)). The members and substitute members may be named individuals or the holders for the time being of any senior government office and residing in or near London. They shall not be staff members of the 1992 Fund. At least one member and one substitute member shall have legal qualifications (paragraph (b)). The members and substitute members shall be appointed for a term of two years and may be reappointed. In the event of the death or resignation of a member or substitute member, the Assembly shall appoint a replacement for the unexpired portion of his term. Pending such appointment, the member or substitute member shall be replaced by his successor in office (paragraph (c)).
- At its 7th session held in October 2002 the Assembly appointed the following members and substitute members of the Appeals Board (document 92FUND/A.7/29, paragraph 20).

Members		Substitute Members	
Mr G Gasc	(France)	Mr N Charalambous	(Cyprus)
Mr H Horike	(Japan)	Ms U Moetzel	(Germany)
Sir Franklin Berman	(United Kingdom)	Mr J Aguilar Salazar	(Mexico)

92FUND/A.9/17

- 2 -

Since the 7th session of the Assembly, the Director has been notified of the resignation of Mr Horike from his position as member of the Appeals Board and of Ms Moetzel from her position as substitute member of the Appeals Board following their transfer to duty stations outside the United Kingdom as well as of Mr Charalambous from his position as substitute member as he is no longer holding an office of the Government of Cyprus. In accordance with Section II(c) of the Statute of the Appeals Board, Mr Horike has been replaced in his position on the Appeals Board by his successor, Mr N Yamagami, Ms Moetzel has been replaced in her position by her successor, Mr F Bertelsmeier, and Mr Charalambous has been replaced by his successor, Mr G Demetriades, pending the appointment of replacements by the Assembly.

Action to be taken by the Assembly

5 The Assembly is invited to appoint members and substitute members of the Appeals Board for a term of two years.