

FONDS INTERNATIONAL D'INDEMNISATION DE 1992 POUR LES DOMMAGES DUS A LA POLLUTION PAR LES HYDROCARBURES 4 Albert Embankment London SE1 7SR Telephone: 0171-582 2606 Telefax: 0171-735 0326 Telex: 23588 IMOLDN G

92FUND/Circ.9 5 May 1998

Notice of the Deposit of Instrument of Accession to the 1992 Fund Protocol by Latvia

In accordance with Regulation 4.6 of the Internal Regulations of the International Oil Pollution Compensation Fund 1992 (1992 Fund), the Director has the honour to notify Contracting States that an instrument of accession to the Protocol of 1992 to amend the International Convention on the Establishment of an International Fund for Compensation for Oil Pollution Damage, 1971 (1992 Fund Protocol), was deposited by Latvia on 6 April 1998. The 1992 Fund Protocol will enter into force for Latvia on 6 April 1999.

The 31 States which have deposited instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in respect of the 1992 Fund Protocol are listed overleaf.

* * *

1992 Fund Member States

Australia Bahamas Bahrain Denmark Finland France Germany	Greece Japan Liberia Marshall Islands Mexico Monaco	Netherlands<1> Norway Oman Sweden Tunisia United Kingdom<2>
States which will become Members of the 1992 Fund on date indicated		
Cyprus		12 May 1998
Ireland		16 May 1998
Republic of Korea		16 May 1998
Spain		16 May 1998
Jamaica	•	24 June 1998
Philippines		7 July 1998
Uruguay		9 July 1998
United Arab Emirates		19 November 1998
Singapore		31 December 1998
Grenada		7 January 1999
Croatia		12 January 1999
Latvia		6 April 1999

<1> The Kingdom of the Netherlands declared its accession to be effective in respect of the Kingdom in Europe.

The United Kingdom declared its accession to be effective in respect of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Bailiwick of Jersey, the Isle of Man, Falkland Islands*, Montserrat and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands.

^{*} A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).