

92FUND/Circ.56 SUPPFUND/Circ.7 1 January 2007

Notice of accession to the Supplementary Fund Protocol by Greece

In accordance with Regulation 4.6 of the Internal Regulations of the International Oil Pollution Compensation Fund 1992 (1992 Fund), the Director has the honour to notify Contracting States that no instruments of accession to the Protocol of 1992 to amend the International Convention on the Establishment of an International Fund for Compensation for Oil Pollution Damage, 1971 (1992 Fund Convention) were deposited during 2006.

The 98 States which have deposited instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in respect of the 1992 Fund Convention are listed overleaf.

The Netherlands have extended the application of the 1992 Fund Convention to Aruba with effect from 12 April 2006.

In accordance with Regulation 4.6 of the Internal Regulations of the International Oil Pollution Compensation Supplementary Fund (Supplementary Fund), the Director has the honour to notify Contracting States that instruments of accession to the Protocol of 2003 to the 1992 Fund Convention (Supplementary Fund Protocol) were deposited by Croatia, Slovenia, Latvia and the United Kingdom on 17 February, 3 March, 18 April and 8 June 2006 respectively. The Supplementary Fund Protocol entered into force for Croatia on 17 May 2006, Slovenia on 3 June 2006, Latvia on 18 July 2006 and for the United Kingdom on 8 September 2006. Greece deposited an instrument of accession to the Supplementary Fund Protocol on 23 October 2006. The Supplementary Fund Protocol will enter into force for Greece on 23 January 2007.

The 15 States which have deposited instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in respect of the Supplementary Fund Protocol are listed overleaf.

When signing the Supplementary Fund Protocol Denmark made a declaration stating that the Protocol did not apply to the territories of the Faroe Islands and Greenland. On 19 June 2006 Denmark withdrew this declaration in respect of the Faroe Islands.

* * *

1992 Fund Member States

98 States for which 1992 Fund Convention is in force		
Albania	Germany	Papua New Guinea
Algeria	Ghana	Philippines
Angola	Greece	Poland
Antigua and Barbuda	Grenada	Portugal
Argentina	Guinea	Qatar
Australia	Iceland	Republic of Korea
Bahamas	India	Russian Federation
Bahrain	Ireland	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Barbados	Israel	Saint Lucia
Belgium	Italy	Saint Vincent and the
Belize	Jamaica	Grenadines
Brunei Darussalam	Japan	Samoa
Bulgaria	Kenya	Seychelles
Cambodia	Latvia	Sierra Leone
Cameroon	Liberia	Singapore
Canada	Lithuania	Slovenia
Cape Verde	Luxembourg	South Africa
China (Hong Kong Special	Madagascar	Spain
Administrative Region)	Malaysia	Sri Lanka
Colombia	Maldives	Sweden
Comoros	Malta	Switzerland
Congo	Marshall Islands	Tonga
Croatia	Mauritius	Trinidad and Tobago
Cyprus	Mexico	Tunisia
Denmark	Monaco	Turkey
Djibouti	Morocco	Tuvalu
Dominica	Mozambique	United Arab Emirates
Dominican Republic	Namibia	United Kingdom
Estonia	Netherlands	United Republic of Tanzania
Fiji	New Zealand	Uruguay
Finland	Nigeria	Vanuatu
France	Norway	Venezuela
Gabon	Oman	
Georgia	Panama	

Supplementary Fund Member States

Barbados	Ireland	Norway
Belgium	Italy	Portugal
Croatia	Latvia	Slovenia
Denmark	Lithuania	Spain
Finland	Japan	Sweden
France	Netherlands	United Kingdom
Germany		
1 State which has d	eposited an instrument of accessic enter into force until date	on but for which the Protocol does not indicated
Greece	and force with date	23 January 200