

92FUND/Circ.46 4 April 2005

1992 Fund Assembly Elects New Chairman

At its ninth extraordinary session held from 15 to 22 March 2005, the 1992 Fund Assembly elected Mr Jerry Rysanek (Canada) as Chairman to hold office until its next regular session. Mr Rysanek is the Director of International Marine Policy and Liability for the Canadian Department of Transport and has a long association with the IOPC Funds and the International Maritime Organization (IMO), as well as with other international organisations dealing with maritime transport.

The First and Second Vice-Chairmen, Mr José Aguilar-Salazar (Mexico) and Professor Seiichi Ochiai (Japan), who were elected at the Assembly's ninth regular session in October 2004, will remain in office until the Assembly's next regular session.

Following his election as Chairman, Mr Rysanek thanked all delegations for their confidence and support which he was honoured to share with both vice-chairmen.

The previous Chairman, Mr Willem Oosterveen (Netherlands), had decided to stand down after five years in office. Speaking on behalf of the Assembly, Mr Rysanek thanked Mr Oosterveen for his immense contribution to the work and smooth functioning of the Assembly during his term of office over the last five years.