

92FUND/Circ.38 26 February 2003

Notice of accession to the 1992 Fund Protocol by Guinea, Tanzania, Namibia and Ghana

In accordance with Regulation 4.6 of the Internal Regulations of the International Oil Pollution Compensation Fund 1992 (1992 Fund), the Director has the honour to notify Contracting States that instruments of accession to the Protocol of 1992 to amend the International Convention on the Establishment of an International Fund for Compensation for Oil Pollution Damage, 1971 (1992 Fund Protocol) were deposited by the Republic of Guinea on 2 October 2002, by the United Republic of Tanzania on 19 November 2002, by the Republic of Namibia on 18 December 2002 and by the Republic of Ghana on 3 February 2003. The 1992 Fund Protocol will enter into force for the Republic of Guinea on 2 October 2003, for the United Republic of Tanzania on 19 November 2003, for the Republic of Namibia on 18 December 2003 and for the Republic of Ghana on 3 February 2004.

The 85 States which have deposited instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in respect of the 1992 Fund Protocol are listed overleaf.

* * *

1992 Fund Member States

76 States for which Fund Protocol is in force (and therefore Members of the 1992 Fund)		
Algeria	France	Papua New Guinea
Angola	Georgia	Philippines
Antigua and Barbuda	Germany	Poland
Argentina	Greece	Portugal
Australia	Grenada	Qatar
Bahamas	Iceland	Republic of Korea
Bahrain	India	Russian Federation
Barbados	Ireland	Saint Vincent and the
Belgium	Italy	Grenadines
Belize	Jamaica	Samoa
Brunei Darussalam	Japan	Seychelles
Cambodia	Kenya	Sierra Leone
Cameroon	Latvia	Singapore
Canada	Liberia	Slovenia
China (Hong Kong Special	Lithuania	Spain
Administrative Region)	Malta	Sri Lanka
Colombia	Marshall Islands	Sweden
Comoros	Mauritius	Tonga
Croatia	Mexico	Trinidad and Tobago
Cyprus	Monaco	Tunisia
Denmark	Morocco	Turkey
Djibouti	Netherlands	United Arab Emirates
Dominica	New Zealand	United Kingdom
Dominican Republic	Norway	Uruguay
Fiji	Oman	Vanuatu
Finland	Panama	Venezuela
9 States which have deposited instruments of accession, but for which		
the Fund Protocol does not enter into force until date indicated		
Mozambique		26 April 2003
Madagascar		21 May 2003
Nigeria		24 May 2003
Gabon		31 May 2003
Congo		7 August 2003
Guinea		2 October 2003
Tanzania		19 November 2003
Namibia		18 December 2003
Ghana		3 February 2004