

92FUND/Circ.65 SUPPFUND/Circ.13 26 June 2009

Notice of accession to the 1992 Fund Convention by the Syrian Arab Republic and application of the 1992 Fund Convention to Zanzibar

In accordance with Regulation 4.6 of the Internal Regulations of the International Oil Pollution Compensation Fund 1992, (1992 Fund), the Director has the honour to notify Contracting States that an instrument of accession to the International Convention on the Establishment of an International Fund for Compensation for Oil Pollution Damage, 1992 (1992 Fund Convention) was deposited by the Syrian Arab Republic on 24 April 2009. The 1992 Fund Convention will enter into force for the Syrian Arab Republic on 24 April 2010.

The Director also wishes to notify Contracting States that the United Republic of Tanzania has informed the Secretary-General of IMO that the 1992 Civil Liability and Fund Conventions apply to Zanzibar.

The 104 States which have deposited instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in respect of the 1992 Fund Convention are listed overleaf.

The 23 States which have deposited instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession in respect of the Supplementary Fund Protocol are listed overleaf.

* * *

1992 Fund Member States

Albania	Georgia	Oman
Algeria	Germany	Panama
Angola	Ghana	Papua New Guinea
Antigua and Barbuda	Greece	Philippines
Argentina	Grenada	Poland
Australia	Guinea	Portugal
Bahamas	Hungary	Qatar
Bahrain	Iceland	Republic of Korea
Barbados	India	Russian Federation
Belgium	Ireland	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Belize	Israel	Saint Lucia
Brunei Darussalam	Italy	Saint Vincent and the
Bulgaria	Jamaica	Grenadines
Cambodia	Japan	Samoa
Cameroon	Kenya	Seychelles
Canada	Kiribati	Sierra Leone
Cape Verde	Latvia	Singapore
China (Hong Kong Special	Liberia	Slovenia
Administrative Region)	Lithuania	South Africa
Colombia Colombia	Luxembourg	Spain
Comoros	Madagascar	Sri Lanka
Congo	Malaysia	Sweden
Cook Islands	Maldives	Switzerland
Croatia	Malta	D 11 21 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
	Marshall Islands	Tonga
Cyprus Denmark	Mauritius	Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia
	Mexico	
Djibouti Dominica	Monaco	Turkey Tuyalu
		United Arab Emirates
Dominican Republic Ecuador	Morocco	
	Mozambique	United Kingdom
Estonia	Namibia	United Republic of Tanzania
Fiji	Netherlands	Uruguay
Finland	New Zealand	Vanuatu
France	Nigeria	Venezuela
Gabon	Norway	3 2 2
	e deposited instruments of	
the 1992 Fund Con	vention does not enter into	force until date indicated
Islamic Republic of Iran		5 November 2009
Syrian Arab Republic		24 April 2010

Supplementary Fund Member States

23 States Parties to the Supplementary Fund Protocol			
Barbados	Greece	Norway	
Belgium	Hungary	Poland	
Croatia	Ireland	Portugal	
Denmark	Italy	Slovenia	
Estonia	Japan	Spain	
Finland	Latvia	Sweden	
France	Lithuania	United Kingdom	
Germany	Netherlands		