

International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds

Agenda Item 7	IOPC/NOV24/ <b>7/5/1</b>	
Date	11 October 2024	
Original	English	
1992 Fund Assembly	92A29	•
1992 Fund Executive Committee	92EC83	
Supplementary Fund Assembly	SA21	

# APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS AND SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS OF THE APPEALS BOARD

## Note by the Director

Summary:	Since the issuance of document <u>IOPC/NOV24/7/5</u> , the Director has been notified that an additional member of the Appeals Board has left London and in accordance with section II, paragraph (c) of the Statute of the Appeals Board, has been replaced by their successor in office until the 1992 Fund Assembly's regular session in 2025.
	The new composition of the Appeals Board is detailed in paragraph 2.3 of this document.
Action to be taken:	1992 Fund Assembly
	Information to be noted.

### 1 Background information

Background information is provided in document <u>IOPC/NOV24/7/5</u>.

### 2 Further developments since the November 2023 session of the 1992 Fund Assembly

- 2.1 Further to the developments reported in document <u>IOPC/NOV24/7/5</u>, the Director has been notified that Mr Kohichi Yamagishi (Japan) left his post in London in July 2024 and can therefore no longer serve as a member of the Appeals Board. In accordance with section II, paragraph (c) of the Statute of the Appeals Board, his successor, Mr Jun Nakazawa (Japan), has kindly accepted to serve as a substitute member (rather than assuming the role of member) of the Appeals Board until the 1992 Fund Assembly's regular session in 2025.
- 2.2 Existing substitute member Mr Suho Lee (Republic of Korea) has kindly accepted to serve as a member of the Appeals Board in the place of Mr Kohichi Yamagishi (Japan) until the 1992 Fund Assembly's regular session in 2025, in accordance with the practice detailed in paragraph 1.3 of document <u>IOPC/NOV24/7/5</u>.



2.3 The new composition of the Appeals Board (which replaces the composition referenced in paragraph 2.2 of document <u>IOPC/NOV24/7/5</u>) will be as follows:

Members	Substitute members
Dr Christos Atalianis (Cyprus)	Ms Ángela Teves Libarona (Argentina)
Mr Suho Lee (Republic of Korea)	H.E. Mrs Marine de Carné-Trécesson de
Sir Michael Wood (United Kingdom)	Coëtlogon (France)
	Mr Jun Nakazawa (Japan)

#### 3 Action to be taken

### 1992 Fund Assembly

The 1992 Fund Assembly is invited to take note of the information contained in this document.